First lesson in 20 years. How to know whether to continue…

marc2211

Tele-Afflicted
So I finally took the plunge and took my first proper first lesson today. I’ve been playing since I was 15 and am coming up to 45 now! I’m mainly self taught and picked things up from playing in groups when I was younger, and listening and playing to record - but I’ve been in a rut for about 10 years, just not improving, so thought I’d take the plunge.

First lesson was a ‘get to know you’, but turned into blues/rock improv. The teacher’s main emphasis for me was to concentrate on slowing down, hitting all target notes, transitions, turn arounds.

After 30 mins he said ok, I hear licks from Page, SRV, Albert King some Clapton… but don’t hear YOU.

We spent the next 30 mins really ‘going back to basics’… Chicago blues style, with minimal bending, concentrating on single notes and making sure I built my improvisation up musically, not diving in from the outset, using space in the music. Also starting to brush up on technique etc (I didn’t realize that nearly every bend I play is a double stop for example).

It was cool, but in was all a bit weird to really concentrate on simple stuff. It was probably really what I needed, but left feeling a bit weird.

The teacher/school does 2 hour group lessons only (2-3 ppl per group, of similar levels) - 1st hour working on core technique and theory, second on group playing and practice of the techniques from the 1st hour. The teacher proposes putting me in a more advanced players group, which is a bit daunting, but said that that was my level. Really recommended that I play with others more and live.

My issue is the frequency of the lessons and the pricing, so I’m unsure on whether to continue.