1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

First foray into building - church pew body

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by steeUK, Jan 19, 2021.

1. steeUK

steeUK TDPRI Member

Hi

I've always wanted to build my own guitar, but until recently moving house have never had anywhere to do it, so lately I have been setting up my new garage to do so and seeing all the knowledge on this forum is giving me the confidence to give it a go. I've cheaply acquired an old church pew end for the body as I have limited experience with woodwork and expect to make plenty of mistakes first time round and don't want to do so on some expensive walnut or something!

Thus far I've levelled it to 1 1/2 inches with a rudementary router sled (this was the thickness at the lowest point in the centre of the wood due to the channel that had been routed for the joint to the rest of the pew). I am trying to use the Tdowns plans but compensating for the thinner body, so am aware I will need to be careful with my selection of 3 way switch so I can do a shallower than normal route for the controls (seen a UK based site selling 28mm depth ones which should be ok) and I understand I'll need to take this into account for the screws when I am attaching the neck.

I've cut out the shape leaving a fair bit extra as I'm using a jigsaw. There are some 1/2 in deep thin cracks in the wood, but as a) this is really just for practice and b) I've grown somewhat attached to this lump of wood (I think some sort of pine that stinks in a good way), I am going to proceed anyway. This is where I am up to thus far.

I'm still undecided about buying a neck - the pragmatist in me thinks it would be the better option, but I am very much enjoying the building experience so far.