1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

first DIY project - Musicmaster Bass Amp mods + rebuild

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by cottontails1959, Jan 24, 2021.

1. cottontails1959

cottontails1959 Tele-Meister

This is my first amp R&R/mod project. I have a 1973 Fender Musicmaster Bass amp that was very noisy – I’ve taken it on as a rebuild and mod platform, with some add-ons that are getting some talk on this forum. The amp came with a replacement speaker and had some updates already done to it, including drilling the chassis to add a fuse holder – so I am not worried about keeping it stock with original components. Reducing noise and making it useable as a bass practice amp are the top priorities. Mods include …

1. New metal film resistors
    2. 33uf input grid stoppers
    3. Increasing coupling cap from .01uf to .022uf
    4. Changing tone control to bass frequency weighted tone tilt stack ala Blencowe
    5. Increasing first filter cap from 20mf to 30mf
    6. Adding bleeder resistors
    7. Adding artificial center tap and heater elevation
    8. Splitting pre-amp section and power amp section grounding