1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

First build

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by makerdave, Mar 7, 2020.

Tags:
  1. makerdave

makerdave NEW MEMBER!

I've been lurking on the forum for a few weeks now and finally made an account :) All the build threads here have been a big help while I've been researching.

I thought I'd start a thread of my own so I've got a place to ask for help when I need it, and to kick it off, I wanted to ask how best to accurately align a prebuilt neck with a template...

But first a bit of background. My name is Dave and I'm primarily a software engineer/educator. I've done a bit of woodworking. A couple small pieces of furniture, a workbench, miter saw stand, tongue & groove plywood before tiling a floor... and other little things. I'm very new to using a router though (more on that in a bit).

This being my first guitar build, I decided to build the body and buy a premade neck. Fewer special tools needed, and I don't have a planer or jointer, but mostly I just wanted to stack the deck in my favor as much as I can. I bought one from Warmoth and I'm very happy with it so far. Looks nice, feels nice and smooth.

Here's where I'm at so far. Printed out the Terry Downs template and stitched it together with packing tape:

[​IMG]

Glued it on some leftover hardboard. It's only 1/8 or maybe 3/16" thick though... I think I'd get some 1/4" if I do another one:

[​IMG]

Used a jigsaw to roughly cut out the template. I tried to get pretty close to the line and took it slow, since I knew I'd be hand-sanding the excess.

[​IMG]

All cut out.

[​IMG]

Then I sanded it with a block and a sandpaper-wrapped dowel for the inside corners, and went around the outside edge with some thin CA glue to strengthen it:

[​IMG]