First build in 5 years, figured walnut, rosewood, ebony ash

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by clarkscustoms, Mar 26, 2017.

Pickguard?

1. No pickguard let the walnut do its thing

12 vote(s)
    32.4%
  2. Pickguard only

12 vote(s)
    32.4%
  3. Pickguard and control plate

13 vote(s)
    35.1%
  1. clarkscustoms

clarkscustoms TDPRI Member

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg This is my first build in a long time. Trying to relearn what I have forgotten. I had a couple necks made by USACG with my lumber and made the body myself.. Not perfect but it's going well... I just cannot decide on the pick guard or control plate... What you think? No pick guard or control plate, just the pick guard or just the body as is?

2. clarkscustoms

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg More pics

3. Muzikp

Muzikp Friend of Leo's

Love the pickguard, I would recess it down in the body. I'm not sure about the control plate tho. Either way it's a beautiful guitar.

RevBillyG likes this.
  4. clarkscustoms

If I keep the control plate it will be 1/2" shorter in length

5. adirondak5

adirondak5 Wood Hoarder Extraordinaire

Like James said I'd recess that pickguard down in the body , I would look for something else for the control plate , to my eye its too distracting, draws eyes away from the walnut and the pickguard . What ever you do with it you've got a winner , beautiful woods .

6. G&Lplayer

G&Lplayer Tele-Meister

Let the walnut show.

7. Marn99

Marn99 Tele-Meister

If I had to have a control plate, I would use chrome. If you are doing wood or nothing I would go with nothing. My two cents. :)

8. RevBillyG

RevBillyG Tele-Meister

I'd build another one so I could have one with the pick guard & one without.

Crafty Fox and Muzikp like this.
  9. Muzikp

Muzikp Friend of Leo's

Lol, Yeh and another two with and without guard and humbuckers, and another two with and without guard and filtertrons, and another two......

RevBillyG and awasson like this.
  10. src9000