1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

First build, first post, first Tele. . .Classical?

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Torres-caster, Aug 5, 2015.

1. Torres-caster

Torres-caster TDPRI Member

Hi all. Thanks for having me.

Never posted here before, in fact, I've barely even "lurked", but I thought this was the place to post details of my first ever guitar build. Or sort of a "build". . .I'd let you decide. Pull up a chair and a beer, because this is a long story with a lot of pictures.

The story started ten years ago. I was a poor student and bought a cheap Brazilian classical guitar on Ebay. In short, it was a nice LOOKING guitar, but a piece of junk. Someone before me had filed the frets so flat, they were practically flush to the fretboard. After having the thing for a short period of time, the bridge completely lifted off the body, taking a nice chunk of the soundboard with it. . .which was now cracked. Apparently this had come off before, then been reglued. . .badly.

Repairing this would have cost more than the guitar was worth, and i was ready to toss the whole thing in the trash, but for one thing. The rosewood on the neck was really nice. So I broke off the rest of the body from the neck, tossed the neck into my box with the idea that "some day" I would do something with it. The neck rattled around with me moving three times over the next ten years.

Here it is, with a closeup of the fingerboard below:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Torres-caster