First Build and a Hot Mess

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by okayestplayer, Jul 24, 2021.

1. okayestplayer

okayestplayer TDPRI Member

Hello All,

Im new here. Lurked for a while- you guys have great wisdom on stuff. But now I need to ask some specific questions.

Been playing forever but this is my first build.

Ive been on sabbatical for the last 6 mos and I finally got bored out of my head. Decided to build something before I started breaking things.

I knew it was going to be a "first build" with both "first build" frustrations as well as quality.

Made plenty of mistakes, loved every minute of it.

Heres what I have

Black ash body body from Supra Tone in St. Paul
    [​IMG]

Maple neck with ebony fret board from WD Music
    [​IMG]

Wilkinson premium 60s WVS Alnico 5 pickups

Wilkinson 54mm Vintage Tele six saddle bridge.

920D Custom Loaded Pre-Wired 4-Way Oak Grigsby Control Plate for T-Style Guitar

Other random Wilkinson parts

got it all put together. Soldered in the 4 way switch- tone pot isnt working, talking to the dealer about that.

Someone gave me a Guitar Center gift card so I figured Id have them do the final set up.

What I found out was that they dont currently have a "guitar tech" but do have people who have been "through the training."

Got a call from GC, tech didnt like the saddles in the bridge, strings kept popping off. He was right, I noticed that when I strung it up the first time. Reccommended some graph tech saddles, I said that sounded great.