1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Firs time poster. PRS build help

Discussion in 'Welcome Wagon' started by msg122, Apr 19, 2021.

1. msg122

msg122 NEW MEMBER!

Hello everybody. Long time lurker, first time poster. During this pandemic I used a lot of my free time to start some builds. I started with an old poly strat body that I stripped and repainted. Moved onto the neck, electronics, etc. My girlfriend got me a tele kit from the Fretwire for Christmas this past year. I've always loved the late 60's vintage white, 3 ply white pick guard and rosewood neck. I'm just about wrapped up with that project as well. It's been a long, but fun process. I work as a glazier so to move from metal-working tools to wood-working tools has been a rewarding experience.

My next project is a PRS style build. I've watched countless videos on reviews of kits, but I would like to start from scratch. I would like to do a Santana style body. From what I've found, most people suggest just starting with a LP double cut body template and then carve the top to your liking. This is fine and all, but that's about where the information trail runs dry. The PRS website only offers the scale length. I'm having a tough time tracking down more specific specs (body thickness, pickup and bridge location and measurements. I would also like to do a McCarty 594 double cut build, but I'm running into the same problem. I have found plenty of plans and spec sheets for the McCarty, but I know the McCarty 594 specs are different. Some people on other forums has suggest going to your local guitar shop and asking to trace and measure the guitar yourself. Another great idea, but my local GC very, very rarely has a PRS core model on display. The most expensive model typically hanging in there is a CE24. Everything else is SE's