Finishing poly. Now what?

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by nicholaspaul, Nov 27, 2013.

1. nicholaspaul

nicholaspaul Tele-Meister

I've used polyurethane a few times but never aimed for a glass like finish. I've sanded down my final coat smooth and got some Meguilars Ultimate compound but it doesn't shine with hand polishing. Should I be using a drill attachment or should it be used after an in sanded coat of poly?

Last edited: Nov 27, 2013
  2. bob1234

bob1234 Tele-Afflicted

"Poly" doesn't necessarily mean "polyurethane". I have a lot of experience in lots of types of finishes, and I've never been able to get a great result from any polyurethane. It works well as far as protecting the wood, but I can't tell you to expect the same results from polyurethane then nitro or catalyzed varnishes.

3. nicholaspaul

I'm just looking for as good a result as I can get from poly(obviously urethane) and not comparing it to anything else.
    Should I spray and then use the Meguilars or power-buff the compound on a sanded coat?

4. bob1234

bob1234 Tele-Afflicted

The main problem with polyurethane is that it is EXTREMELY heat sensitive and hard to sand flat.

Best thing is make sure you give it proper time to cure. This can be one week, two weeks, even up to a month. Make SURE its fully cured! Also when you buff, go slow, and take your time. You will be shocked how easy you can burn through your finish.

Just go slow, and you can get a pretty rock solid result.

5. nicholaspaul

Thanks Bob. It's been a couple of weeks now so I think I'm ready to buff. Fun!

6. nicholaspaul

Bob, do you use Ultimate Compound right after wet sanding and then polish, or do you use other grades of compound too? I just want to know how many foam pads I'm going to need.

7. bob1234

bob1234 Tele-Afflicted