Finishing a bound body

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by camilonavarro27, Feb 24, 2021.

1. camilonavarro27

camilonavarro27 TDPRI Member

So I’m sure this has been answered before, but I’m planning on getting an unfinished double bound body for my next project. I was wondering is I’m supposed to lacquer over the binding or not. I’m sure I’ll have to tape it up when applying the color coats, but what about the finishing lacquer coats?

I’m fairly new to partscasters and diy guitars so any advice would be extremely helpful and appreciated. Thanks!

Camilo N.

2. Wyatt

Wyatt Tele-Afflicted

You can tape it off some, but the edges are usually scrapped after the color coats. After that it gets clear coated with the rest

1:40 here ...

It takes practice and I haven't practiced near enough.

Fretting out and camilonavarro27 like this.
  3. dpang2836

dpang2836 Tele-Meister

Yes, Scraping is tough! Might do some damage. I like to Tape. If you can get 1/4" Tape, it is easier. Make sure you see just a hint of Binding, or you will see a void of the color. 0000 steel wool off any excess. Try not to expand removal, over the binding. I have used a piece of sandpaper also.

camilonavarro27 likes this.
  4. Freeman Keller

Freeman Keller Poster Extraordinaire

This has just been discussed on several recent threads but I'll go over it again. I mask the tall sides of binding with 1/4 pin strip masking tape (auto parts store) and do any staining or color coats. On wood binding I paint a couple of coats of vinyl sealer on the short top part of the binding with an artists brush, for plastic binding just leave it. Follow the recommendations for the wood you have whether it needs pore filling or not. Seal as required and spray any color coats right over the binding.