Fingerstyle method advice

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by brogh, Aug 17, 2017.

1. brogh

brogh Assistant Admin Staff Member

Hello Fellas :)

I have .. well .. ngd post will be later :D anyhow..

I'm looking into fingerstyle just wanted to know what method you can advise for a total beginner on acustics.
    I learned some "picking" songs along the way but really not fingerstyle stuff.

I have this one which i'll be diving into from today, but it's focused on blues.

[​IMG]

I'd like to learn something in country/folk/bluegrass (??) if you came over any method that you find great please ring a bell...

I'm really NOT looking at web courses, i want to stay off computer (ipad) when i practice.

Thank You !

Cheers

2. McGlamRock

McGlamRock Friend of Leo's

I learned (some) classical guitar before I got into country/bluegrass picking. I think it really helped my right hand technique a lot and made learning Chet Atkins and Kerry Reed type stuff a little less daunting.

The Christopher Parkening book is pretty cool

Or if you just want some pieces to work on to help work out your picking hand, I'm a big fan of the Carcassi Etudes . They're pretty simple and sound really cool... even on an electric or steel string guitar

brogh likes this.
  3. 4 Cat Slim

4 Cat Slim Friend of Leo's

I listend to a lot of Chet Atkins' records when I was learning guitar.
    If you observe his overall approach (rather than try to duplicate his arrangements note-for-note), it may be helpful
    to you as a beginning finger style player.

Take some simple tunes (old folk music songs or pop songs) that you may already know and then try to play them finger style. Examples might include Freight Train or House of the Rising Sun, or Beatles or Bob Dylan songs, among others.
    Build on what you already know.