Fingerstyle help/tips

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by alathIN, Sep 25, 2019.

1. alathIN

alathIN Tele-Holic

I'm kind of a prodigal guitarist - played as a teenager and then didn't touch a guitar for 32 years. I had a great teacher who was always trying to get me to use the fingers of my right hand but fool teenage me didn't have the patience. So when I started playing again I decided to learn fingerstyle in a kind of belated repentance.

It's been a lot of fun and I've progressed a lot, but watching really good fingerpickers I see some stuff that's holding me back.

Watching Knopfler in particular, I'm amazed at the economy of his right hand movements. You can barely tell that his fingers are moving. It's not just him; they're all like that. When I watch my right hand my fingers are moving a lot more, further away from the strings, and therefore have a longer way to get back ready for the next note.

Also I notice there is tension in my right hand which I would be very surprised if the better fingerpickers have.

I do pay attention to getting my thumb out in front and fingers behind, and keeping some curve in my fingers, which seems to help. And when I slow WAY down and really focus on it, I am able to avoid SOME of the excess movement - but still moving more than the folks who are really good at it.

I'd appreciate any tips or hints or suggestions that might help me clean up my right hand technique.

Omar from ST likes this.
  2. thebowl

thebowl Tele-Meister