1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Fingerpicking with permanently damaged index finger?

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by 2fingers, Jul 15, 2017.

1. 2fingers

2fingers TDPRI Member

Hi all,

I have a quick question. I have been learning some (very) basic slide guitar techniques over the last 11 months. I'm new to guitar but picked up open E blues rather quickly. The last experience with music theory I had was in 6th grade (I'm 37 years old now) - and that was trombone, so it was just bass clef. Since then the years have gone by and I've completely forgotten basic music theory, HOWEVER, I have a knack for figuring things out. Here's my problem:

I can "see" where the notes are on the open E blues scale, but I have a picking hand problem and cannot seem to pluck the strings even close to as fast as I'd like, so I end up skipping notes (ack!)... A few years ago I was wrapping a handle on a Bola knife (practically a machete in size) with some paracord and (don't ask how) I managed to permanently sever the tendon in the topmost joint in my right hand index finger, so I've been learning fingerstyle but I pretty much just leave my index finger straight (I cannot bend the tip) and instead play with just my middle and ring fingers. My pinky is VERY weak and it actually becomes painful rather quickly when I try to use it for the higher strings. My thumb pretty much rests on the low E, muting it and anchoring so I have some consistent hand placement.