1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Finger Picking my Tele Question

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by minndogs, Nov 7, 2005.

1. minndogs

minndogs TDPRI Member

Hi Everyone,
    Only been playing about 3 years now and I am not that experienced a player
    I have been finger picking a lot more lately and am running into some questions as I learn. As far as my technique goes -
    I do not use a thumb pick or finger picks. I use the thumb, index, middle, and ring fingers as this feels very natural to me.
    I am finding that the volume of my higher strings is not as loud as the bass strings that I thumb pick.
    I have adusted the high string side of my bridge pup to compensate a bit. Is this a good choice or, should I learn to pluck the strings a lot harder with my fingers to get the volume level loud enough?
    Any advice would be appreciated.
    Thanks much...

2. AJ Love

AJ Love Friend of Leo's

Perhaps. Or, perhaps, pick softer with your thumb. I pick with my fingers 99% of the time, and if I don't focus on my pick attack it is very easy to pick the heavier bass strings harder and louder, there is more string there to "grab onto" and it is easier to pick them "too hard"

Of course, how you set up your pickups could have something to do with it too

3. sidneystreet

sidneystreet Tele-Afflicted

My advice is similar, and I also play fingers-only a great deal of the time, and hybrid-style the rest. As long as your pickups are adjusted reasonably, perhaps with the bass side a little lower than the treble side, you will just gradually learn to produce even dynamics. Classical players spend countless hours working on solid even tone across the instrument. The Telecaster is no different.