Finger picking blues guitar instruction

Discussion in 'Music to Your Ears' started by psychobilly451, Jun 10, 2019.

1. psychobilly451

psychobilly451 TDPRI Member

I am a beginner player and ultimately would like to be able to play in the realm of RL Burnside, Lightning Hopkins, John Lee Hooker, etc.

I am planning on picking up Finger picking guitar techniques by Stefan Grossman DVD. Plus I have
    Joseph Alexander
    Fingerstyle Blues Guitar: Master Acoustic Blues Guitar Fingerpicking and Soloing.

Am I on the right track for learning materials?

Vibrolux59 likes this.
  2. 4 Cat Slim

4 Cat Slim Friend of Leo's

You're probably starting down the right track as well as with anything else I can think of.
    One more suggestion:Immerse yourself in recordings of Brownie McGhee (with and without Sonny Terry) and
    probably Mance Lipscomb as well. Just a plug for two guys whose music has guided me over the past thirty to forty years or so.
    Final suggestion: Don't think of blues as a geographic sort of thing (Texas blues, Delta blues, Piedmont blues, etc...).
    Listen for the feeling.
    Just my two cents.

Greggorios and Flaneur like this.
  3. psychobilly451

psychobilly451 TDPRI Member

I am familiar with McGhee but haven't heard much. I lean toward the darker rowdier booze and wimmen songs but have been listening to John Hurt and some Lipscomb lately.

I listen to blues 90% of the time when I put on music.

Thanks for the input 4 cat slim.

Greggorios likes this.
  4. Harry

Harry Tele-Meister

5. clayville

clayville TDPRI Member

Grossman will steer you towards Mississippi John Hurt some of the time too (my favorite fingerpicked acoustic blues guy). A google search on "Mississippi John Hurt Guitar Tab Book" turns up a pretty useful free resource.

Greggorios likes this.
  6. Sean65

Sean65 Tele-Holic

Stephen’s material is top shelf.

Perhaps for a complete beginner you might find David Hamburgers Blues Handbook courses easier.