Finally -- Princeton Reverb

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by theprofessor, Apr 9, 2020.

1. theprofessor

theprofessor Poster Extraordinaire

A great amp for strange times. Or for any time.

A friend and I have a sort of collective going. He's a woodworker by trade and has helped me get off the ground in learning to make T-style guitars. Out of that collaboration have come my Cuban Mahogany T-style and my Walnut T-style.

So now it's my turn to teach him how to make an amp. We've decided on a Princeton Reverb. And if I am going to help him build one, that means I should build my own, too, right?

So that's what I'm doing. Ever since I built my first Princeton Reverb for someone else, I have wanted one for myself. And that one sounded so good, my plan has been to build one just like it -- a modern PR clone, using Hoffman's layout and a Deluxe output transformer.

And when I say "teaching," I fully recognize that I'm no expert. I know enough to do what I need to do and to make a good amp. This will be my sixth amp build, but I have _loads_ yet to learn. Please feel free to pitch in and comment on anything as you see fit. In fact, I rely on you all to look over my shoulder to make sure I'm not doing something bone-headed and to explain stuff to me when I'm stumped (@FenderLover ..., @D'tar ..., others...).

As usual, a lot of what I do in my threads is think out loud and document things for later builds or for others. I'll try to attend to several of the peculiarities of the build and its parts as I move along.

The plan was essentially to make an exact copy of the last Princeton Reverb I built. That one used a ClassicTone 40-18027 power transformer, a ClassicTone 40-18002 output transformer (spec'd for a Deluxe), and an NSC reverb driver.