Finally, after 20+ Years of guitar playing, Ive taken formal Jazz lessons.

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by dreamingtele, Apr 8, 2018.

1. dreamingtele

dreamingtele Friend of Leo's

Music theory has been my weakness. I am self taught in mostly every aspect of my life and always been looking for a mentor/teacher to look up to and learn from. Be it work, sports, music and spiritual walk. Finally, the time has come to learn Blues’ most complicated and technical little brother. It’ll take some time for me to learn Jazz, but you never gonna get there if you dont take the first step. So here I am. Having fun at what Im most passionate on.

[​IMG]

We have covered quite a lot of general topics, and now I dont know where to start. For now, the exercises given to me were locating all E notes on the fretboard, and doing the major scale in syncopated timing. and also practing C "thirds" scale.

Man, theres a lot of things and it feels like everything has been scrambled in my head. good thing I did record our lesson and would hear the lessons again.

Loving the bridge pickup and being on it 99% of the time, Im now learning to love that neck pickup with tone rolled all the way off. I love Julian Lage and he's the one artist that made me learn and take the first step in learning Jazz. I hope I can play and reach within an inkling of his talent. and he's a tele player too!

and its another excuse to get another guitar! I wish its that easy telling it to the wife! LOL

any of you cats here have tips for a complete beginner with NO formal lessons on note, note reading, and music theory regarding where to start, how to start on practicing Jazz and learning Jazz.

2. twangjeff

twangjeff Tele-Afflicted

Two tips that I feel may be helpful.

1.) Patience: this is like learning a new language. It will take a long time before you are able to really internalize the vocabulary and have a handful of tunes down.