Filtered power entry

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by jeff_e, May 26, 2020.

  1. jeff_e

    jeff_e TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Location:
    S.W. of Edmonton, AB
    I have this handy , any noticeable benefit to these, or should I go with the combo and save a step?

    This is for my Maggie/5F1 with switchable options build


    IMG_20200526_144127703.jpg
     
  2. RollingBender

    RollingBender Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,210
    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    SW Minnesota
    If you have the means/skill/patience/equipment to cut the hole, they are great. No worries about yanking the cord out in a dangerous harmful manner. Many have a built in fuse holder. You probably already have a dozen cords laying around.

    My last build, I used one with an illuminated switch. Power, fuse, switch and indicator all in one hole.
    B73D7A3F-7DF0-400E-8564-68FC5B3E5842.jpeg
     
  3. dan40

    dan40 Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,713
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Location:
    Richmond Va
    I remember reading about those line filters several years ago but cannot remember the details. I believe the general concensus was that they didn't do much good.
     
  4. davesans

    davesans TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Location:
    Florida
    I have seen the IEC/corcom filter in some preamps and CD players not come across them in guitar amps.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2020
  5. sds1

    sds1 Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    1,400
    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Location:
    Orlando, FL, USA
    I was curious so I pulled up a datasheet for one of those line filtering IEC's and this is the type of circuitry in some, where Cx and Cy are typically 0.1uF and 2.2nF respectively, but they vary a little in some models. R tends to be 1k.

    Wonder if there are any modes of failure that will cripple or otherwise affect the downstream device? Hopefully these are designed to fail gracefully. Obviously any short between P and N would suck. I'm sure they thought of that.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. jeff_e

    jeff_e TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Location:
    S.W. of Edmonton, AB
    Looks good

    Yeah, lots of computer cords around.

    Thanks guys. Lots of quiet amps are built without them.

    This is a 3amp rated unit that I have, not sure what would let go inside first..
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.