1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Fiddle Tune Standards

Discussion in 'Music to Your Ears' started by JakeCox, Jan 4, 2014.

1. JakeCox

JakeCox TDPRI Member

Ok... hopefully this turns out to be a great thread with a ton of input.

I've recently been conformed to the dark side. That's right... I started playing country. Haha. For anyone who wants to think that this is an easy road, think again. I've been playing music for 21 of my 27 years, and nothing has just rang my brain out and hung it to dry like this. Haha. It's definitely a new monster for me. Being a guitar player, I naturally started listening to the greats like Danny Gatton, Brent Mason, Johnny Hiland, Jerry Reed, etc... After many failed attempts at trying to figure out the method to the madness, I've come to the conclusion that I need to once again start all over and learn the basics, learn some bluegrass, go pick with some older guys, get schooled by them, and get schooled some more until I START getting the hang of it.

My question is... What are the "stock" fiddle tunes that every picker is going to know? I know a few groups of guys who do this, and I at least want to walk in with something to offer. I didn't grow up on this stuff, so I need a little guidance in this department.

2. troy2003

troy2003 Friend of Leo's

Not a fiddle tune-but Wildwood Flower and Under the Double Eagle. Fiddle tunes-Red Haired Boy,Old Joe Clark,Red Wing. These songs are played at EVERY oldies jam I go to

3. JakeCox

JakeCox TDPRI Member

Thanks man.

4. troy2003

troy2003 Friend of Leo's

There's quite a few bluegrass tab sites. Doc Watson had some simplified tab of a lot of tunes too

5. Valvey

Valvey Tele-Holic