Feral Cat

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by zimbo, Sep 22, 2020.

1. zimbo

zimbo Friend of Leo's

I've been feeding a small skinny feral cat for about 3 months. The cat is only about 6 mos old. It started out eating outside on my step but quickly started to come in and eat inside the doorway. It occasionally snoops around the house but it doesn't like to be petted and it seems very nervous. I'm kind of concerned on how it will manage in the winter snow. I'm in the suburbs and most of the city cats stay under abandoned buildings. Nothing like that here.

Anyways I closed the door behind the cat last night and within 3 minutes it tore my house apart trying to get out. It was running around the celiing on the curtain rods and trying to get out the windows. It tore the curtains down, knocked over plants and tore thru the kitchen knocking everything off the counters. A small disaster. I'm thinking I may not be able to save this cat.

2. blowtorch

blowtorch Telefied Ad Free Member

I'm thinking that cat doesn't want saving. It's a wild animal.
    Probably doesn't need saving, either.
    Animals have fur for a reason, and if you want you could probably devise some sort of shelter for it out of doors for the oncoming winter months, or, like you said, it'll find some building to live under

3. nojazzhere

nojazzhere Doctor of Teleocity

Don't know what your town or city does.....but Ft Worth has a program to trap feral cats, take them in to be neutered, and then release them back to prey on the wild bird population. At least the cats aren't reproducing like crazy......since they have no natural enemies in the city to maintain a balance. Call your city services and see.

Fiesta Red and Ronzo like this.
  4. Preacher

Preacher Friend of Leo's

Once it gets cold and the cat finds that the house is warm it will probably stay a bit.