Fender Twin Reverb issue

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by lonewalk78, Feb 18, 2020.

  1. RottenTheCat

    RottenTheCat Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    880
    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Location:
    Drambuie, Africa
    No need to "add" a bias pot. Its there. Just move a few wires. Jeeze.
     
  2. RottenTheCat

    RottenTheCat Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    880
    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Location:
    Drambuie, Africa
    A real hi fi amp does work w a guitar.... I know a guy who uses a Macintosh 30 at his regular club gigs playing pop and jazz to midi backing.
     
  3. corliss1

    corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

    Posts:
    3,874
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    You can have bias AND the balance pot with the recommend changes, if you want :D Best of all options.
     
  4. RottenTheCat

    RottenTheCat Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    880
    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Location:
    Drambuie, Africa
    True dat. Hate to Sarah Palin that chassis tho.

    Matched tubes are usually the order of the day _and_ the balance effects banks not individual tubes.... So with matching the tubes and _level_ control, you're better off. I see no great usefulness on a 4 tube amp. But thats me
     
  5. Lawdawg

    Lawdawg Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    941
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Or you can do what this guy did and run two Twins through a McIntosh!

    [​IMG]
     
  6. lonewalk78

    lonewalk78 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Is there a diagram for the conversion to the Blackface specs? That would be nice so I can be adjusted easier.
     
  7. stantheman

    stantheman Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    10,858
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Location:
    White Mountains
    My nuts are in hiding.:eek::eek:

    Like Chief Brody told Quint - “You’re Gonna Need A Bigger Boat.”
     
  8. BobbyZ

    BobbyZ Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    12,467
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Snellman MN
    Forget about blackfacing this amp! The ultra linear is different enough that doing a full on "blackface mod" is a pretty deep job.
    All you need to do is get a bias setup you can adjust easier than the balance setup it came with. As is you either find tubes close enough or swap resisters to get it in the "zone".
    You can rewire the pot that's there or add a pot ahead of the balance pot. I prefer to add a pot, actually a trim pot, takes a minute or two.
    The only draw back is you gotta pull the chassis to set bias, like every Marshall. Unless you're swapping power tubes all time in search of some tonal nirvana, you won't need to bias very often. Power tubes last a long time in a Twin.
    Leaving the balance pot can be nice if your tubes aren't exactly matched. Or maybe you like a little mismatch. It's there so I just leave it. Otherwise you just set it in the "middle" same voltage on both sides and forget about it. Maybe down the road you got two matched pairs of 6L6 you want to use. That's when you'll be glad you left it.

    You won't find a layout of this amp, apparently Fender stopped printing those about 1970 or so. I've never seen one for any of the amps with master volumes and those started like '73 or '74 or so. But you can find a schmatic and those are a whole lot more useful anyway. Once you learn how to read the damned things of course.
    The layouts show you where the parts go, which is nice. But a schmatic shows you how the electricity flows, if you're tracking down a problem that information really helps.
    Do all the electrolytics, not just the ones that "look bad". Those pesky cathode bypass cap cause trouble. Like noises, no trem or a rather annoying squeal when you try to use the reverb. And trust me, you're gonna want that reverb!
     
    moosie likes this.
  9. RottenTheCat

    RottenTheCat Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    880
    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Location:
    Drambuie, Africa
    Its VERY complex. All new iron needed. Much revision and frankly a bit if improv too. Better to sell that jewel, and find an earlier one.
     
    BobbyZ likes this.
  10. Teleguy61

    Teleguy61 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,082
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Eastern Massachusetts
    http://ampwares.com/schematics/twin_reverb_sf_135.pdf

    This should be your schematic.
    Good luck with changes.
    Pay very close attention to polarity in the filter caps.
    The first two filter caps--the 220uf--and the bias supply cap are the ones that usually fool people.
    Be triple sure the polarity is correct.
     
    BobbyZ likes this.
  11. lonewalk78

    lonewalk78 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2020
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Ok, thanks for the info...I'm gonna do all caps and set bias, the new tubes are matched..everything on this amp works great but just needs alittle TLC.
     
    Teleguy61 and BobbyZ like this.
  12. Ten Over

    Ten Over Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    523
    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Location:
    Central California
    A really easy one is attached. It's not "Blackface", but it will most likely get you to where you want to go.

    15 Twin 135W Bias Mod 3.JPG

    This next one is more like a Blackface. This amp has a completely different power supply and it's not going work with an exact AB763 drop-in bias circuit.

    13 Twin 135W Bias Mod 1.JPG
     
  13. moosie

    moosie Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    16,543
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Location:
    Western Connecticut
    If that means you don't want to drill for a new pot... no need. Hot glue and a trimpot, mounted on the back of the balance pot.
     
  14. Ten Over

    Ten Over Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    523
    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Location:
    Central California
    If you are up to adding an additional pot, you can have bias level and bias balance.

    The bias circuit has a shunt resistor that is 15 times larger than the dropping resistor and the dropping resistor is only 2.2K. This makes it difficult to get a cold bias that is significantly colder than the stock bias. It also makes replacing the 33K resistor with a pot somewhat impractical because the pot will be working against a 2.2K resistor in the voltage divider.

    14 Twin 135W Bias Mod 2.JPG
     
    moosie likes this.
  15. Ten Over

    Ten Over Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    523
    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Location:
    Central California
    I don't like the Fender schematic.

    Twin Reverb 135.png

    In case you forget how the doghouse cap's go:

    Doghouse Twin 135W.JPG
     
  16. RottenTheCat

    RottenTheCat Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    880
    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Location:
    Drambuie, Africa
    Yeah.... I know. I'd never do that on a customers amp, just me.
     
    BobbyZ likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.