Fender Twin Reverb issue

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by lonewalk78, Feb 18, 2020.

1. lonewalk78

lonewalk78 TDPRI Member

New here to the forum...I have a 1978 Fender Twin Reverb which looks all original from what I can tell. I just got it from the original owner who didnt think he ever had it worked on. I installed new JJ tubes ( 4-6l6 matched, 4 atx7, and 2 at7), cleaned.all the pots and sockets. I'm having issues with it distorting or flabby bass when I am at 4 volume and 4 master volume. This amp has no bias pot and I am new to amp tech. Any help would be awesome

2. lonewalk78

lonewalk78 TDPRI Member

20200130_171103.jpg 20200130_163558.jpg

Telecastoff1 likes this.
  3. Musekatcher

Musekatcher Friend of Leo's

You need to find a reputable tech. It likely needs caps, and possibly a resistor or two, etc. Budget a couple hundred bucks, it will probably be less.

PS - that will be a fantastic amp when its in good operating order. A Twin with JBLs is one of the best sonic experiences there is!

Wally, Nick-O, Alter and 3 others like this.
  4. corliss1

corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

Yup - cap job for sure. No point in trying anything else before that gets done.

Nick-O and BobbyZ like this.
  5. dented

dented Doctor of Teleocity Gold Supporter

mmmmmmmm D120s....mmmmmmmmm:twisted:

Fret Wilkes and Nick-O like this.
  6. moosie

moosie Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

As mentioned, your power caps are old, in dire need of replacement. But... it's not just flabby bass you need to worry about. They can 'go' without warning, and when they do, are likely to take out the power transformer with them. Then you're up the creek.

Get it fixed before turning it on again. Please.

OldPup, dan1952 and BobbyZ like this.
  7. TelenTubes

TelenTubes Tele-Holic

Question... hopefully not a thread detailer...