Fender Pro Reverb - To trade or not to trade?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Kelleycaster, Nov 28, 2019.

1. Kelleycaster

Kelleycaster TDPRI Member

So, I’ve been looking for a good tube amp that can be loud enough for small-medium gigs, but can also achieve a good tone at room level for recording.
    I found someone with a late 70s Silverface Fender Pro Reverb who is willing to trade it for a Breedlove acoustic I have which is worth about $650.
    I’m not an expert on amps, so I’d love to hear any and all of y’all’s thoughts on it. It looks to be in good cosmetic shape, and everything works except the reverb. Back plate is missing, but I can make a new one of those. Being a late 70s model, it doesn’t have a tube rectifier, but it does have a master volume.
    So here are some of my questions...
    Does the master volume make it possible to achieve the beloved “edge of breakup” sounds at a tolerable room level?
    Any idea how much it would cost to fix or replace the reverb? Can I likely fix the reverb myself with basic soldering skills?
    How do you like the tone of these amps compared to other Fender amps?
    Is it worth trading a $650 guitar for?

Thanks in advance for any feedback!
    Chris

2. bftfender

bftfender Friend of Leo's