Fender Princeton RI issue, need input.

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by Jaysmay, May 7, 2021.

1. Jaysmay

Jaysmay TDPRI Member

Amp gurus....

I have a issue with what I’d call a feedback hiss or noise coming out of my fairly new Princeton Amp, about 3 months old.

Is a low oscillating background noise kind of high pitched. It has shown up recently and comes on after the the amp warms up. At first I thought it was coming from another room, running water at a sink or something.

I've turned the volume off and to max, the noise stays that same level. I've done the same with all the other controls and had the same result with the noise staying at the same level. It's not a hum, I've put my guitar next to the amp and do get a slight hum.

I've played my custom champ and no similar issue.

I'm not a electrical engineer, any one had a similar issue? I live in a large metro area, close to a flight path at Dulles Airport.

Any thoughts?

2. King Fan

King Fan Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

PRRI, tight? What happens if you switch off trem and reverb with the footswitch? (Knobs on zero aren’t the same thing.) If that changes it, let us know. Hiss and/or oscillation are common in those sectors.

If that doesn’t change it, since tube guys should have a spare tube or three, what happens if you swap in a new V1 tube, 12AX7 — the tube nearest the input jacks?

And of course the obvious question, is it still in warranty? Can you get it checked where you bought it, or at a Fender shop?

3. fasteddie42

fasteddie42 Tele-Afflicted

which reissue, the 65' or the 68' custom?

4. Jaysmay

Jaysmay TDPRI Member

It is under Warranty.

My wife just told me she heard a funny noise coming from office... I not imagining it!

I connected the footswitch. I can hear the reverb go off and on, but the noise is still there. It's a low level high pitched sound.

Thanks for your reply.

5. Jaysmay

Jaysmay TDPRI Member

65 Princeton RI, bought direct from Fender 3 months ago.