Fender Pickguards vs Squier Affinity J Bass...They Don't Fit!

Randypttt

Friend of Leo's
I realized after watching a few repair vids and some sites on Jazz basses that the neck is not flush with the fretboard on the Fender but slightly overlaps.

The Affinity's rosewood fb I believe is the same width but is flush with the neck end.

Also the cut for the pickup seems too small as well.

So the question is: out of all the parts supply places, which have the one's that fit?

All common knowledge I'm sure. Not a bass player by trade just use them for my studio work. Fairly ignorant otherwise.

I've started with the files and sandpaper but it's been a dubious production to say the least :rolleyes:

Appreciate any help you can give.

kodiakblair

Tele-Meister
which have the one's that fit?
This depends on where the Squier was built and when.

With different factories using different suppliers there's quite a variation.

Reason Fender parts are not exact fits on Squiers is both valid and by design , to avoid Squiers with Fender parts being sold as genuine Fenders. You'll find differences from MIM and MIJ Fenders too.

Sometimes there's an easy fix for the pickups , simply change the cover/shell to one the correct size.

backporchmusic

Poster Extraordinaire
Squier has done a good job in recent years of standardizing the sizes of pickguards and such, but really only among the higher parts of their food chain. Classic Vibe, some Vintage Modified and such can swap with Fender parts more easily.

This generally doesn't extend to the Bullet or Affinity range.

So yeah...files and sandpaper. By the time you get enough material off for it to fit, you'll be better at the process.

jfgesquire

Friend of Leo's
I realized after watching a few repair vids and some sites on Jazz basses that the neck is not flush with the fretboard on the Fender but slightly overlaps.

The Affinity's rosewood fb I believe is the same width but is flush with the neck end.