Fender deluxe reverb footswitch?

hadenolmsted

Tele-Meister
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Posts
101
Location
Northern Virginia
Hey guys,
I was playing some this evening, and when I plugged in my reverb/vibrato footswitch, there was kind of a loud "pop" sound. Could have sworn it sounded less bright afterwards, but maybe it was just me. I was looking at the cable, and as I moved it around while plugged it (moving the TS connector around inside the FS jack) it would make that same pop sound. Now I had unscrewed the reverb switch, as I never ever turn that off. I screwed it back on, and didnt get any of the same sounds. Any ideas? Maybe cause the reverb switch was loose in the footplate?

Amp info:
Newer Fender DRRI, with replaced caps, output trans. and speaker, as well as a variable negative feedback control. Not sure if this would make much of a difference, but thought it best to include. Amp was serviced at time of mods/upgrades just a few months ago.
 

telex76

Doctor of Teleocity
Ad Free Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2006
Posts
16,123
Age
71
Location
Fort Worth,Tx.
If it popped when the reverb switch was unscrewed and didn't pop when the reverb switch was screwed back in, I don't think there is any doubt as to the cause.
 

waparker4

Doctor of Teleocity
Ad Free Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2011
Posts
18,996
Location
Philadelphia, PA
If you never use the reverb switch, get a single button footswitch and a normal guitar cable to operate the tremolo

This can be very convenient if you use a pedal board. (top left)

IMAG6367-1-1_zpsifkjdizp.jpg
 

Reverbious

TDPRI Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2016
Posts
11
Location
Northern California
Another option if you Always want your reverb and tremolo to be turned on, and don't want to carry the footswitch is to get a shunt plug that turns them on. See the classifieds on this site or ebay or reverb and you can buy them already soldered up and ready to go. Or you can make your own...not too hard, just takes time etc. The one below works for '65 Deluxe Reverb Re-issues and '65 Super Reverb Re-issues.

http://www.tdpri.com/phpclassifieds...quot-always-on-quot-plug-for-drri-srri&cat=32
 

Mike Simpson

Doctor of Teleocity
Joined
Mar 19, 2006
Posts
13,117
Location
gone
Another option if you Always want your reverb and tremolo to be turned on, and don't want to carry the footswitch is to get a shunt plug that turns them on. See the classifieds on this site or ebay or reverb and you can buy them already soldered up and ready to go. Or you can make your own...not too hard, just takes time etc. The one below works for '65 Deluxe Reverb Re-issues and '65 Super Reverb Re-issues.

http://www.tdpri.com/phpclassifieds...quot-always-on-quot-plug-for-drri-srri&cat=32


The reason they footswitch turns the tremolo off is because that deactivates the optocoupler which is a little light that flashes to effect a LDR (light dependent resistor) that causes the tremolo function. Your plug would leave the light bulb on all the time and shorten the life of the optocoupler.
 

vibrasonic

Tele-Afflicted
Joined
Dec 6, 2011
Posts
1,495
Location
sault ste marie canada
The reason they footswitch turns the tremolo off is because that deactivates the optocoupler which is a little light that flashes to effect a LDR (light dependent resistor) that causes the tremolo function. Your plug would leave the light bulb on all the time and shorten the life of the optocoupler.

Ah, now I know the reason the BF models need a footswitch to activate the trem. Learn something everyday here.
 




Top