1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Fender CS Right Angle Plug...Fits My Stock Tele With Plenty To Spare

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by Lef T, Jan 30, 2017.

  1. Lef T

    Lef T Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    637
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    I've been searching for a right angle plug to fit my stock Tele.
    I didn't want to order up a bunch of plugs to see which fit and then have to have them made into
    cables.
    I did have an Amphenol right angle,but the body was rubbing against the lip of the Tele cup.
    Hit my local music store today and checked out a few cables.
    Nope.
    Tried the Fender Custom Shop Custom Cable.
    It's a black,vintage cloth looking cable.
    Put the right angle plug in my Tele.
    Room to spare.
    I mean,really room to spare.
    It's a joyous day here in Canada.
     
  2. LutherBurger

    LutherBurger Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,193
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    NYC
    Good to know. Thank you.

    How long is the plug from the tip to the end of the 1/4" sleeve? All of mine are 31mm, just like all of my TRS plugs. I'm guessing that the Fender sleeve is longer than usual.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2017
  3. Electric Mud

    Electric Mud Tele-Holic

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    899
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Location:
    SW PA
    Had same issue. Made the guy at Sweetwater actually go plug cables in before I ordered. Ended up with Planet Waves cables. Wish they were all metal, but they do fit!
     
  4. Lef T

    Lef T Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    637
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Sorry,I have no way to measure,but there is still a lot of room.
    Maybe not a 1/4 inch of space,but close to it.
    I had my guitar at the shop and when I plugged in the Fender jack,you know I was
    grinning ear from ear.
    My search is done.
    I can't remember the other cables,I tried but I know one was a Rapco and a Lava
    also.
    The Lava looked nice,but wouldn't fit.
     
  5. LutherBurger

    LutherBurger Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,193
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    NYC
    That's OK. Thanks for letting us know that it fit.

    And if we're being honest, I was just pretending -- in the spirit of international cooperation -- to know what the hell a mm is.
     
  6. Lef T

    Lef T Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    637
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    That's funny.
    I'm in my sixties now and grew up with inches, feet and so on.
    My brain is now permanetly wired that way.
    I think bringing the metric system into Canada was a government conspiracy to further divide old and young.;)
     
    LutherBurger likes this.
  7. Lef T

    Lef T Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    637
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    I left the cable at the shop.
    The tech is going to change out the straight end with a Switchcraft right angle plug that will go into my pedalboard.
    I also bought a CS 5 footer that he'll put a right angle on too.
    When I pick them up next week,I'll get a measurement at the shop and take a pic of the jack in the Tele also.
    It will actually be interesting to know.
    The store owner told me that Fender intentionally did that to fit Teles.
    Whether that is true I have no idea.
     
  8. ebb soul

    ebb soul Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    61
    Posts:
    7,843
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Location:
    Smyrna georgia
    You can usually loosen inner and outer spanner nut, thread inner one further 'up', problem solved.
     
  9. Lef T

    Lef T Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    637
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    Lots of room.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2017
  10. SPUDCASTER

    SPUDCASTER Poster Extraordinaire Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    9,426
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Location:
    Grangeville, Idaho
    Would make sense that they would make a right angle plug to fit the Tele jack.

    They are in the cord selling business too.
     
  11. LutherBurger

    LutherBurger Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,193
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    NYC
    Nice. I have less room than that with normal RA plugs on my electrosockets, which, if I remember correctly, are shallower than the stock cups. The barrels of my plugs all touch the edge of the electrosocket.
     
  12. SPUDCASTER

    SPUDCASTER Poster Extraordinaire Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    9,426
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Location:
    Grangeville, Idaho
    I went with the Switchcraft EP-055L-000 long thread input jack on my Electrosocket.

    I comes out almost even with the edge of the cup. Just about any RA plug will fit.

    Probably not a pancake though. Although I've never tried one.
     
  13. radiocaster

    radiocaster Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,855
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Location:
    europe
    Custom Shop Cable? How much does it cost, $250? Can you get it as a relic?
     
  14. SPUDCASTER

    SPUDCASTER Poster Extraordinaire Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    9,426
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Location:
    Grangeville, Idaho
    If your willing to pay that.

    They do make a "Performance" series cable(not cloth covered) for a more reasonable pricing.

    Looks like the same RA plug is used.
     
  15. Lef T

    Lef T Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    637
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    I would have gone for the Performance,but at the moment my little shop here in Nowheresville, Canada only had the cloth covered ones and I wanted instant right angle gratification.
    I'm not a big fan of the cloth stuff,but later on when I build a couple of cables,I know
    the jack from that cable will work.
     
    SPUDCASTER likes this.
  16. SPUDCASTER

    SPUDCASTER Poster Extraordinaire Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    9,426
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Location:
    Grangeville, Idaho
    Kind of in the same boat out here. Most everything I purchase is online.

    Does anyone know which RA plug Fender uses?

    Switchcraft will fit my electrosocket and Planet Waves will fit either vintage or the electrosocket.

    Looks like the Neutrik Silent Plug might fit both, but I'm not paying almost $16 for one.
     
  17. Lef T

    Lef T Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    637
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    I know the Amphenol wouldn't fit mine.
    I spoke to a cable builder and he said the Neutrik does have a bit more room over the
    Amphenol.
     
  18. SPUDCASTER

    SPUDCASTER Poster Extraordinaire Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    9,426
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Location:
    Grangeville, Idaho
    The Switchcraft and the regular Neutrik appear to be pretty similar.

    The Planet Waves will fit but it's molded plastic.

    The Fender RA is different from the Switchcraft and the Neutrik.
     
  19. Felino

    Felino Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade
    I keep almost all my studio connections with Neutrik. Once, I bought a mic cable with Amphenol connectors and had a tough time trying to connect it with a very expensive mic. They are just not made with precision. I quit using Amphenol immidiately. Well, maybe I had no luck with that particular connector, but I avoid that brand.
     
  20. SPUDCASTER

    SPUDCASTER Poster Extraordinaire Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    9,426
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Location:
    Grangeville, Idaho
    I'd like to know where Fender sources that RA plug from.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.