Fender amp questions - Noob

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by billsbigego, Oct 13, 2014.

1. billsbigego

billsbigego TDPRI Member

Hi all, I'm a noob when it comes to Fender amps. Brain is burned out from researching and I'm back to square one. I think I'm dumber now than when I started researching.

Here's what I'm looking to do.
    I have several baritone electric guitars, resonators with P90's, lollar single coils and highlander piezos.

I realize the piezo's wont sound great through a Fender tube amp, but my main thing is cleans.

I love the sound of the DDRI and the Fender DRRI. I realize the TRRI would be overkill as I'm not playing stadiums :D

So my questions are as follows.
    1. The TRRI would be a stupid choice, correct?
    2. Does it matter that the DRRI does not have a mid tone control?
    3. I've heard people say that the Hot Rod Deluxe would be better for pedals, is that correct? The only pedal I would basically be putting in front of the amp would be a tube screamer, blues driver, or some other pedal which would be good with a TRRI or DRRI.
    4. Is it an absolute no no to run an acoustic or a piezo equipped resonator through one of these amps?

What I really love hearing on these amps is the Vibrato, which sounds killer on videos I've seen with a Baritone Dano.

Thanks in advance.

2. SteveGangi

SteveGangi Tele-Holic

The Deluxe does NOT suffer any loss of anything, because of not having a "mid" control. In fact, the Deluxe is consistently on many people's "desert island amp" list... what amp you would want if you could only have one (on a desert island). The Twin is a great amp, but it would a very very very rare occasion that you could ever really open one up.

Basically, with the Deluxe, you already have one of the best ever.

3. billsbigego

billsbigego TDPRI Member

what if I could get a 68 custom TRRI for $800 brand new. Would you buy it?

4. Hiker

Hiker Poster Extraordinaire