Fender '68 Custom Pro Reverb

JayDee

Tele-Holic
I've been using it on the job for the past several months. I really like it. The middle control is really helpful to have. I keep it biased cool to get more headroom out of it. This amp has the sound and feel that I've been looking for. The tube bias tremolo is fantastic.
The only bad thing I have found is that one of the tube sockets on mine has a strange issue. Sometimes when you put a tube in that side, it doesn't make contact. It just doesn't light up. I pull it and put it back in. That takes care of it. It's definitely not a problem that you'd expect from a new amp. I like the sound of the amp so much that I'm willing to keep it and fix it later. It's probably just a bad tube socket. They're not soldered to the board, so it should be an easy fix.

stantheman

Doctor of Teleocity
Fender Pro...yeah all the way back to
November 1964. One fifteen, two 6L6's,
and tube rectified it bears good meaning, all the way to two twelves
with that same lineup.

If I was RICH then I'd already have the
newest one...at this age maybe the
Pro Jr. is a better fit.

...but it's interesting undeniably.

Maguchi

Friend of Leo's
Does anyone have any experience with the new Fender ‘68 Custom Pro Reverb 1x12” 40 watt?

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly?

sorry no help here but if I were in the market for a new fender amp I think this would be the one- I love the specs on it
I jam with a guy who has one and his sounds great. Has that wonderful Fender clean sound similar to a blackface. Sounds kinda similar to a Twin Reverb. The tremelo is swampy and the reverb is cavernous. Sounds good dirty and with pedals too, but don't know how he sets his amp knobs for dirt or what pedals he uses.

I like the specs on it too. 40 watts and only 35 lbs, while the 22 watt Silverface and Blackface Deluxes are 42 lbs. and the Supersonic is 40 lbs. Should be very portable for gigging.

Last edited:

dannyh

Friend of Leo's