Fender 68 Custom Princeton Problem

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by ilgfo, Sep 20, 2019.

1. ilgfo

ilgfo TDPRI Member

First and foremost, hello everyone, been reading TDPRI for a few years since I started playing guitar. This forum is fantastic with a wealth of info. Thanks to everyone for helping me out along the way.

So here is what happened: I was playing guitar and turned on a pedal and the second I stepped on the pedal my amp volume dropped very low, I then turned the pedal off and the volume got a bit louder again but it definitely didn't go back to as loud as it was. I then shut the amp off and panicked a little and dismantled my pedalboard. Turns out I had a bad cable that was pinched and it was shorting the tip to the sleeve.

I kept the pedalboard out of the equation and turned the amp back on about 30 minutes later and it was definitely not right, I normally play with the volume at 2 and now 2 seemed to be at 4. Im pretty handy with electrical, electronics etc and I decided to take the amp apart and check the tubes and some TP voltages. For the sake of keeping this short I thought some voltages were definitely not right and wasn't sure about the rectifier tube so I ordered a new set of tubes.

The tubes showed up today, I plugged them in and fired the amp up, but it still seems too quiet on 2. So then I searched for a schematic and could not find one, but I found one for a 65 Princeton Reverb Reissue (See Attached) It came from this site which has great pictures of the circuit board https://guitarampblog.wordpress.com/2017/01/26/fender-65-princeton-reverb-schematic-vs-68/

I figured since the amps are very similar the voltages should be the same but I don't know, and can't find any info. I decided to check some test points and here are some readings:

C28 TP30 445VDC - My reading = 416VDC
    C26 TP31 425VDC - My reading = 403VDC
    C29 TP32 250VDC - My reading = 255VDC
    TP33 & TP34 3.3VAC My reading= 2.87VAC