Extension for Belt Sander

Discussion in 'The DIY Tool Shed' started by cleanheadsteve, Jul 14, 2020.

  1. cleanheadsteve

    cleanheadsteve Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    Arkansas
    i just took a regular stationary disc/belt sander and lengthened it with a piece of wood. then use whatever u have to make a perfectly level top and glue your own sanding belts to size using rolls of cloth backed sandpaper. allows me to flatten a whole neck or fretboard. or even flatten some board edges to be joined[​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-G981U using Tapatalk
     
  2. old wrench

    old wrench Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,445
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Location:
    corner of walk and don't walk
    Looks good Steve :).

    You've got it covered, drive wheel at one end and tracking wheel at the other end.

    I've done a lot of work modifying belt grinders and have even built my own, too.

    If you ever want to try some really good and economically priced belts, check out Klingspor. They offer a type of belt they call a "planer belt". It uses alumina zirconia grit and lasts forever on wood. They also work great for tool steels and even titanium.

    If they don't have a stock size to fit your belt grinder, they offer a custom size service at a real low price.

    I buy all of my belts from them.


    .
     
    getbent likes this.
  3. Peegoo

    Peegoo Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,115
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2019
    Location:
    Panhandle of Wyoming
    Nice work!

    +1 on Klingspor; not only is the price very reasonable, the quality of their abrasives are second to none.
     
    old wrench likes this.
  4. cleanheadsteve

    cleanheadsteve Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    Arkansas
    thanks guys. i've heard of klingspor so i'll definitely look for it

    Sent from my SM-G981U using Tapatalk
     
  5. tubegeek

    tubegeek Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    59
    Posts:
    3,130
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    "Whatever you have" - what did you use for the level surface? Looks like hardwood? Did you have to wax it or anything?

    Nice mod!
     
    Mr. Neutron likes this.
  6. RodeoTex

    RodeoTex Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    10,482
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Location:
    Nueces Strip
    Cool.
    I love to see imaginative DIY inventions.
     
  7. Davecam48

    Davecam48 Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Age:
    72
    Posts:
    4,803
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Great innovation Steve!!! If it was me, I'd look for a piece of "counter top granite for the top surface for the "perfect" flatness.

    DC
     
  8. Davecam48

    Davecam48 Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Age:
    72
    Posts:
    4,803
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Location:
    Queensland Australia

    This should go to the thread I posted when I built my drum sanded.

    https://www.tdpri.com/threads/who-h...ander-is-it-worth-buying.956889/#post-9153783

    DC
     
  9. cleanheadsteve

    cleanheadsteve Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    Arkansas
    tubegeek. i put a flat piece of hardwood on top and then a piece of formica on top of that. the formica is smooth and slick enough that i dont have to wax it

    Sent from my SM-G981U using Tapatalk
     
    Fretting out and tubegeek like this.
  10. tubegeek

    tubegeek Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    59
    Posts:
    3,130
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Wisdom
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.