Explain to me the benefit of a treble booster

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by ftgjr, Sep 6, 2013.

1. ftgjr

ftgjr Tele-Meister

I know that they boost treble but what else can a TB do for me. Where would they be better than using a clean boost or drive pedal?

There's a Catalinbread Naga Viper on CL that I might check out tomorrow.

2. Shango66

Shango66 Friend of Leo's

I have a Rangemaster TB style pedal and it boosts and adds gain/ dirt.
    A clean boost just ups the clean signal without dirt.
    The tubes in your amp may add a bit of dirt using either pedals cos you are pumping extra signal into it.
    I use both often.

3. luckett

luckett Banned

A rangemaster will change it's frequency response when you change the guitar volume. It goes from gritty mid boost with volume at max to a chimey clean treble boost when you roll off the volume. It needs to be the first pedal in the chain to work this way. Most boosts and drives don't change their character like this when you roll the volume.

4. Shango66

Shango66 Friend of Leo's

A good description. Almost like a good fuzz pedal.
    The level of grit is controlled on the guitar volume.

I put my clean boost at the end of the chain.

5. WaylonFan76

WaylonFan76 Poster Extraordinaire

Gonna get a Catalinbread Galileo pretty soon and it has a Naga Viper in it. Looking forward to it!

6. tekbow

tekbow Tele-Afflicted

and it doesn't really boost treble, more the upper midrange, makes things richer etc

7. jefrs

jefrs Doctor of Teleocity

The Rangemaster doesn't do what it was intended to do. It is supposed to compensate for signal level and treble loss in long stage leads. You are supposed to roll the gain down until the sound corresponds to that of a shorter stage lead. We don't do that.