Experimental DC-DC Deluxe Micro

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by drneilmb, Dec 4, 2019 at 2:29 PM.

1. drneilmb

drneilmb TDPRI Member

Hi, first post in this forum. I'm a middle-aged ham radio operator who's getting back into electric guitars and got excited to build my own tube amp. Being super-stingy, I was inspired by Rob Robinette's Deluxe Micro and its use of a very affordable output transformer. And this https://marinesnow-jp.jimdo.com/ホーム/真空管ミニギターアンプ/dc-dcモジュール使用/ presented the idea of using a $4 DC-DC converter in place of the HV power transformer. Applying some deeply ghetto engineering, I built this with about $80 in parts from AES.

1202191540(1).jpg

The lower left is an IEC inlet, wired up to the innards of a 19V Samsung laptop supply. To the lower right are two voltage converters set at 12.6V to feed the filaments. Why two and why series? Because (19V - 6.3V) * 2 * 300mA was too much dissipation for a single module. I thought I was getting a true buck converter, but the cheap ones on eBay are just LM317s on little heatsinks. I tried only one, but it went into thermal protection (thankfully).

The two tubes are up on "standoffs" inspired by https://heilsound.com/amateur-radio-post/the-pine-board-project/ and everything is wired truly point-to-point on the tube sockets and on the back of the pots.

1202191540a.jpg

And how does it sound? I'm too much of a rookie to know since I've literally never played through any other tube amp before, but I can say that it makes lots of fun tones depending on the knob positions. It's far more responsive to picking dynamics and volume controls than any multi-effects amp model I've used. Tone changes by a lot depending on the pickups from single coils (clean up through gritty to dirt) to P90s (light dirt up through heavy crunch) to humbuckers (almost convincing metal tones with everything dimed).

I just have two questions left: