1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Excercises/Practice to make my pinky more useful?

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by TelZilla, Aug 28, 2020.

1. TelZilla

TelZilla Friend of Leo's

I've been playing for 35+ years, and I can make my way around rock/blues/country OK (basic chord theory/ blues/major pent/myxolydian, etc). But my pinky is relatively useless. Watching Tom Bukovac videos has given me profound pinky shame.

What have you done to make your pinky a useful appendage? Any thoughts on what to work on? an excercise?

pippoman likes this.
  2. Wally

Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

Practice full scales in all patterns. And...here is an exercise I picked up in Guitar Player some decades ago....
    Ascending use 1st and 3rd fingers and down pick, descending uses 2nd and 4th fingers with up pick. You can use any four frets anywhere on the neck.

———————————5——6———————
    —————————3——————4—————
    ———————5——————————6———
    —————3——————————————4—-
    ———5——————————————————6
    —3—————————————————————-4

3. brokenbones

brokenbones Tele-Holic

If you play 2 note power chords, just starting using your pinky instead of your ring finger. That and practice hammer ons and pull offs with all 4 fingers.

When I stretch out my fingers to begin playing I play this on every string. The numbers are frets and fingers.

0 1 2 3 4 3 2 1 0

Last edited: Aug 28, 2020
    Toast, Supereditor and Doctorx33 like this.
  4. trxx

trxx Tele-Afflicted

Just start using it wherever it seems practical. It will probably take a while before it doesn't feel awkward.

Supereditor, jackal and 8trackmind like this.
  5. JL_LI

JL_LI Friend of Leo's