EVH 5150 Overdrive Equivalent

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by geddyleedog, Jul 18, 2019.

1. geddyleedog

geddyleedog Tele-Holic

I really like the soundclips I've heard of the EVH 5150 Overdrive, but I'm cheap, so I don't like the price tag. Anyone aware of a somewhat equivalent sounding pedal that's significantly less than $150?
    Thanks!

2. boredguy6060

boredguy6060 Friend of Leo's

I don’t use pedals. I have some old ones in a box somewhere, point being, I’m not a expert on pedal prices.
    However $150.00; seems cheap enough for a good pedal, there are many that cost a lot more.
    You could keep your eye on the used market and see if you can get one cheaper there.
    Good luck with it.

3. Tubeboy

Tubeboy Tele-Meister

May i suggest a used Wampler Pinnacle. I've had both but i liked the Wampler better. The 5150 had a harsh treble that I personally didn't like and it couldn't be dialed out but that's just me. I don't/ can't play like Eddie,I'm sure in his capable hands it would sound awesome! If you really must have a 5150 maybe you should look for a used one.

4. blowtorch

blowtorch Telefied Ad Free Member

Yep get it used, that's what I did. Pretty sure I only paid a franklin for mine

Last edited: Jul 18, 2019
  5. 11 Gauge

11 Gauge Doctor of Teleocity

Amptweaker TightRock Jr looks like something you can pick up used for about $130 or less.

You might also want to consider a Barber Dirty Bomb. It looks like you can get one of those used for around $100 or less.

...They may not be totally equivalent to the 5150, but they could be similar enough.

6. dlew919

dlew919 Poster Extraordinaire

Try a second hand blues driver or a boss Ds 1.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

7. geddyleedog

geddyleedog Tele-Holic

Thank you fellas!

8. schenkadere

schenkadere Friend of Leo's