1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Everyone is replaceable

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by 1955, Apr 21, 2021.

1. 1955

1955 Doctor of Teleocity

I was going through the “2 weeks” thread, and I am happy for the OP, but some of the other comments really gave me food for thought about the way corporate treats employees, and vice versa.

Just reading the follow-up posts concerning liability protocol reinforces why I never wanted a corporate job.

First of all, I have limited experience working within a company, so obviously my opinion is likely misinformed or naive, so there’s that.

However, I feel that rewarding excellent employees with distrust, viewing people as numbers or bodies, believing everyone is replaceable, it turns my stomach. Kicking a good and loyal worker to the curb with the mentality of “It’s just business, nothing personal” ticks me right off.

I keep hearing how payroll (employees) is the largest drain (overhead) for a company. Why don’t larger companies reward good performers with respect, trust, loyalty, and good remuneration? They are the ones who are ultimately responsible for the growth of a company. Why isn’t there at least an attempt to create a family atmosphere for so many of these huge companies?

Probably because they are too large.

My hats off to those of you who have had to put up with so much in order to be a good provider and parent. I know that the cost of living to raise a family, send kids through school, own a reliable vehicle, a modest house, etc. drives many people to endure all manner of impersonal indignities, and also for many, these types of trade-offs don’t bother them in the grand scheme of things.

It saddens me, though, when I think of years of long commutes, computer screens, restricted/censored communication, etc.