1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Esquire Conversion - I'm Confused

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by studio1087, Feb 10, 2020.

  1. studio1087

    studio1087 Telefied Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    25,029
    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Location:
    Near Milwaukee
    I completed my Squier/Esquire conversion and it's not working 100%. I can't figure out what I did wrong.

    There's only three solder points.

    How it's supposed to work......

    1. Volume only - pickup straight to the jack - hot sound.
    2. Volume and tone pots work like a traditional Tele.
    3. Orange capacitor kicks in and there's a lot of bass.

    What's actually happening...….

    1. Volume and tone both work.
    2. Volume and tone both work (just like scenario 1).
    3. Orange capacitor kicks in and there's a lot of bass.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I think that I soldered the wire to the switch in the wrong place. The directions that came with the new control plate are not like the directions that I'm finding online. I thought this would be very easy. This isn't what the directions (that came with the control plate) look like.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Dukex and ukepicker like this.
  2. Dukex

    Dukex Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,065
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    Sorry I can't help, but she's a beauty and I wish you luck! Someone will come along and help.
     
    studio1087 and tubelectron like this.
  3. schmee

    schmee Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    14,043
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    northwest
    That import switch you have is not like the Fender style switch. Did you compensate for that? Fender on the left, import on the right: (not sure if this is your import switch or not)
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Corvus

    Corvus Tele-Meister

    Age:
    71
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    The "lots of bass" 3rd position is intentional and was like that on the original Esquire and teles up until the sixties. As the Esquire predated the Precision bass, no doubt some bright spark thought it would be a useful sound for simulating bass. No! It's too dark and nobody I know uses it - but that is the original wiring. Now, what I do is remove the big orange drop and the resistor and put in something very small like a 0.0047 uf cap That gives you a nice usable cocked wah sort of sound in that position.
     
    studio1087 and Danb541 like this.
  5. tubelectron

    tubelectron Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,742
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Location:
    France
    And Indeed she's a beauty : this is THE Esquire per se - The Steve Cropper one... ;)

    Too bad this Squier Tele is not available LH... :(

    A+!
     
    Daddy Dom, studio1087 and Dukex like this.
  6. BelairPlayer

    BelairPlayer Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,471
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    NorCal
    Do yourself a favor while you have it apart. Throw away that PCB switch (they always get noisy and fail more quickly) and put in a proper Oak/Grigsby switch. I bet your wiring matches them and you never have an issue with the switch again.
     
    stnmtthw, Doctorx33, TeleTown and 4 others like this.
  7. ukepicker

    ukepicker Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,951
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    +1 on the new swtich. I've always had trouble with those import switches - even the "good" ones I paid $10 for.

    If you're gonna keep the import switch for now: it might be worth figuring out which contacts are connected in which position. It's been a while since I've seen it, but I feel like I had a switch do something I wasn't expecting once. After I put a meter on it to test for continuity, it was an easy fix to wire it up to do what I wanted. I mean, there's only 3 positions, right??

    That's a sweet looking guitar, John! Hope you get it up and grinning quickly!
     
    studio1087 likes this.
  8. telemnemonics

    telemnemonics Telefied Ad Free Member

    Age:
    61
    Posts:
    25,401
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    Maine
    I use exposed switches so I can see what's connected.
    In position 1 you need to connect the pickup hot lead to nothing other than the output jack hot lead.
     
    studio1087 likes this.
  9. tubelectron

    tubelectron Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,742
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Location:
    France
    Personally, the switching I would use would be :

    1 - PU only, direct-to-jack, no pot
    2 - PU with volume pot
    3 - PU with volume and tone pots

    But it's me, OK ? :D
     
    MonkeyGym, Doctorx33 and studio1087 like this.
  10. Macrogats

    Macrogats Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    53
    Posts:
    3,644
    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Can’t help with the wiring, but that’s a nice guitar dude. I’m thinking of Tom Petty right now. ;)
     
    studio1087 likes this.
  11. Danb541

    Danb541 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,124
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2019
    Location:
    Oregon
    Do yourself a favor get a regular tele switch and wire it up with the eldred mod. I did it to this one and it's awesome.
    Pos 1: Pickup straight to jack, volume works but no tone
    Pos 2: Volume and tone knobs work
    Pos 3: Cocked wah sound, very cool.

    https://www.premierguitar.com/articles/The_Eldred_Esquire_Wiring

    Youtube eldred mod, there are many videos, some good, some bad.
    IMG_3766.JPG
     
  12. Danb541

    Danb541 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,124
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2019
    Location:
    Oregon
    I forgot to add. IMHO with the normal esquire wiring position 3 is worthless. It's too bassy.
     
    studio1087 likes this.
  13. -Hawk-

    -Hawk- Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,403
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Location:
    IL, USA
    What do the included directions look like?

    Also, maybe this was before you changed it, but I swear it looks like the neck pickup is still connected in that pic.
     
    studio1087 likes this.
  14. Lake Placid Blue

    Lake Placid Blue Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Location:
    California
    Good eye. I didn’t notice that. I guess you really live up to your username!
     
    studio1087 likes this.
  15. Bearzooka

    Bearzooka TDPRI Member

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Location:
    none
    Did you post the wrong picture of the wiring? The neck pup is connected to the switch, the tone pot is connected to the volume pot and I see no orange cap that you speak of. Looks like standard telecaster wiring to me.
     
  16. studio1087

    studio1087 Telefied Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    25,029
    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Location:
    Near Milwaukee
    Guys the controls in the top photo are the Squier controls coming out. This is the Esquire control plate that went in......

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Lake Placid Blue and ukepicker like this.
  17. ukepicker

    ukepicker Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,951
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    Ah. Ok - thanks for the clarification.

    Is there any chance that the contacts on the switch are touching the shielding in the cavity?

    What model of Squier is that?

    Also - in the diagram (the one called "TESQ-ELD-C"), it looks like there's supposed to be a small yellow cap tapped to ground from the switch the the volume pot. Did you add that and we're just not seeing it? Is it hiding under the pushback wire?

    That's a very neatly done harness, btw.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2020
    studio1087 likes this.
  18. moosie

    moosie Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

    Age:
    64
    Posts:
    17,803
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Location:
    Western Connecticut
    Hey John, the 920D diagram is correct, though it's an odd way to do it. There are a lot of different ways to wire this one. I did not confirm if the actual harness is the same as their diagram.

    I've taken the liberty of drawing both the one you expected (top, from the phostenix diagram), and the one you got (bottom, 920D), oriented the same way.

    Since you have it in person, can you confirm that I've drawn the bottom one correctly, as they show in their diagram? And on your harness? The extra jumpers they show on the (my) left side of the switch are puzzling, but it should still function.


    Screen Shot 2020-02-11 at 06.08.20 PM.png
     
    JIMMY JAZZMAN and studio1087 like this.
  19. Bearzooka

    Bearzooka TDPRI Member

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2018
    Location:
    none
    You need to switch that short wire and the long wire going to the tone pot. Short wire should go to the very top lug and the tone pot wire to the lug underneath it
     
    studio1087 likes this.
  20. otterhound

    otterhound Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,877
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Location:
    Manheim Pa.
    I'll give you a hint . 3rd position , feed that sucker some real juice and it will growl like no LP ever could . Once you get enough power to it , the highs will come out . For example , my '66 Bassman . That is all .
     
    bender66, puddin and studio1087 like this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.