Epiphone Devon Tremolo EA35T 63' SERVICE Suggestions

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by teleman78, Mar 25, 2020.

1. teleman78

teleman78 Tele-Holic

Just traded a synth I didn't like for this amp, Something tells me it's a winner after a couple of new touches. It's all original, unmolested and true to a 63' spec. So far it's very thin sounding... not pleasant, however once the tremolo circuit is engaged it's AMAZING, the tremolo in this amp is AMAZING. I want to update it so it suits me better... Also one thing to note is that is not very loud, I can crank it full volume and is not very loud at all which points to me to a power tube upgrade.. don't know...

overall I need more beefieness and low end out if the amp need some suggestions...

I'm no expert but know that the logical thing is the filter cap update, new tubes and new speakers, I need the speaker to be light weight and for it to bring out more low end (A lot more low end) out of this amp.

Suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Cheers.[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

fenderchamp likes this.
  2. boredguy6060

boredguy6060 Poster Extraordinaire

I’d take it a step at a time, unless you really know the amps history.
    Definitely change the caps first, then see what you think of it. When it’s being recapped have the carbon comps resistors measured as best as possible. See if there are any way out of spec. Again, see what you think of it with the recap and resistors replaced.
    If it still sounds a little weak or wonky, check the rectifier tube , then the preamp tubes, then the power tubes.
    If after all that you still think the amp sounds weak or acts weird, replace the speaker, my favorite brand is Weber but it’s a personal thing.
    Good luck,

3. teleman78

teleman78 Tele-Holic

Woah! That sounds like a great plan mate. Stay safe and thank you.

4. fenderchamp

fenderchamp Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter