Embarrassed much?

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by TimmyM, Apr 10, 2020.

1. TimmyM

TimmyM Tele-Meister

Okay, so we’re all friends here. Does anyone listen to, or play music that you would be embarrassed for others to find out about? Because I was raised around so much music, by most accounts, I have pretty eclectic taste. Embarrassed is perhaps not the best term to use, but at the same time I was listening to KISS, I loved the Temptations. In high school, while I was playing UFO, Thin Lizzy and other hard rock, I was listening to punk and new wave on my own. When I was playing in a hair metal band in 1987, I was listening to Keith Whitley and flat picking bluegrass in the privacy of my own home. The other embarrassing thing about me during my “playing days” was that I have always had a real job, I am a Structural Engineer and have been employed by the same firm since 1985. Due to this, while I was playing with a bunch of long-haired guys, I was always pretty clean cut and I stood out like Rick Nielsen of Cheap Trick, Graham Bonnett of Rainbow. I was sort of like the new wave kid in the metal band, but it worked at the time. To this day I listen to anything from 1920’s jazz up to modern pop and modern country, my only true dislikes are disco, rap and not really into funk.

2. Deeve

Deeve Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

so, you're asking "any guilty pleasures?" aren't ya.

I'm less embarassed now, or fon't give a duck what somebody else thinks.
    Karen Carpenter had a pretty good voice and the productions were rather, "produced".
    But that's similar to what I like from Jeff Lynn, either as a Wilbury or ELO product.
    No idea who is doing "current" production and don't really care, unless it's a couple of girls from Georgia who look like they're having fun, and "production" is pretty spare - live and on the tube of You.

Somebody else?

Peace - Deeve

3. Downshift

Downshift Tele-Holic