EL84 BF Princeton?

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by schmee, Sep 17, 2019.

1. schmee

schmee Poster Extraordinaire

Would I have to change anything really to try EL84's in a BF Princeton circuit? I'm modding my Mono15 to a Princeton and thought "hey, why not just try it with EL84's before I punch those power tube holes bigger?"
    Thoughts?

2. radiocaster

radiocaster Poster Extraordinaire

You'd have to bring B+ down to a lower voltage.

3. schmee

You think so? My Carmen Ghia ran at 425-450 plate volts! Which, I agree, is way out of spec for EL84's.

4. radiocaster

radiocaster Poster Extraordinaire

I'm not an expert, maybe it's in conjunction with the mA reading that is the real test, the power dissipation rating.

5. VintageSG

VintageSG Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

If you're sticking with the Monoprice transformers ( 006093 and 006094 ), you'll be fine. Those transformers are used in many Laney 15 Watters including the Cub 10, LC15 and VC15. If you're going cathode biased, you'll need a different value resistor, but that's about it to go between EL84 and 6V6.

If you're using a different power transformer and you're worried about frying EL84s, don't use EL84s. Use 6p14p-EV instead. The Cub only puts around 300V to the plates. My Jet City JCA20H gives the EL84s a good workout with ~370V

How far down the Princeton route are you going?

6. David Barnett

David Barnett Doctor of Teleocity

7. 1300 E Valencia

1300 E Valencia Friend of Leo's

Yellowjackets?

lowatter likes this.
  8. schmee

I just thought I'd start out with the Princeton layout and use the Mono trannies. Not a fan of cathode bias anyway. But I do have a Princeton Power Trans laying around here. I have some of those Russian replacement tubes for EL 84's I've had laying around for years. But I was surprised how well JJ's lasted in my Ghia at high voltage.
    I'll probably just try it with EL84's for giggles before I change out the tube sockets....

9. Phrygian77