1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Egnater Tweaker 15 Low Power & Sounds Muffled

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by Kraftybob, Sep 29, 2020.

1. Kraftybob

Kraftybob TDPRI Member

Hello everyone. Long time lurker here.

I'm just getting into amp repair strictly as a hobby. Kind of a Flip or Flop thing but with amps instead of houses. My first attempt is this Tweaker 15 that I bought with the description of "light on, no sound". Some of you may be wondering WTH is he thinking? The reality is even if I lose money on this one it's been well worth it as I've learned a lot already. I'd just chalk it off to start-up expenses :)

When I first tried the amp there was nothing - no hum, buzz, static. No sound out of the loop into another amp and nothing from another amp back into this. I opened the chassis and the OT was completely disconnected with a piece of tape on it labeled "Bad". Alrighty then - there's my first clue.

I tested the PT and that's good. I then tested what I could on the OT (resistance, continuity, shorts, etc.). The only thing that stood out to me was the resistance between the primary leads (below). I don't know if this is ok or not, but later when I checked voltages at the power tubes they look good - so maybe this is fine?

Red (CT) to Blue: 164 Ohms
    Red (CT) to Brown: 61 Ohms
    Blue to Brown: 120 Ohms