1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Egnater Rebel 30 I broke plastic tube tip in socket...help!

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Danb541, Apr 14, 2021.

1. Danb541

Danb541 Friend of Leo's

I have zero experience with amps. I have a rebel 30 combo and the clean channel starting dropping volume intermittently. I didn't really know where to start so I bought a new tube set since the amp is 10 plus years old. I am good with wiring guitars and stuff but amps scare me. Two questions:

1. I broke the tip or guide off the tube when pulling the original out and it stuck in the socket. I tried pulling it out with needle nose pliers and it just broke more. The top side of the socket looks like a circuit board, I was hoping I could push it through from the top side but that doesn't seem possible. It looks like two screws hole the socket in, I though about removing those to see if I could pull it out and push the broken plastic through. I'm not sure if I would make things worse.
    I ended up just putting the old tube back in with the broken piece still in there. I then biased the amp (first time doing that) it was pretty easy. Everything seems to be working now but I've only played the amp for 20 minutes or so. Is it okay to just leave it like it is? Any ideas for removing the broken plastic so I can use the new tube? All the rest of the tubes are new.
    (I did spray all the sockets with electronics cleaner)

2. As I said, I biased the amp. It has little ports for the Ohm meter and little pentameters to turn. It said to set it at 45, which I did. The amp had maybe been on 5 minutes when I Biased it. After I was done I started wondering if I should have let it warm up more. What's the general rule here? Should I leave it on for an hour tonight and recheck the bias?

Thanks in advance!