Early 90s MIM Telecaster Special: Who has one?

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by El Tele Lobo, Jul 29, 2018.

1. El Tele Lobo

El Tele Lobo Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

My first telecaster was one of the first made in Mexico Telecaster Specials from the mid 90s. I think it was a 94 or 95. It had an ash body with a finish that Fender called Crimson Transparent.

I had done a number of modifications to it after I started playing heavily at blues jams with it. One of the first was to add Sperzel locking tuners, because I had trouble making quick string changes with the ones it cam with. Then I replaced the bridge pickup with a Joe Barden, which matched much better with the neck humbucker. I like the idea of a reverse control plate, But didn’t know how to solder, so I just turned it around. It was pretty funny when people would borrow my guitar at jams, because everything was backwards… The tone knob was in front and you had to put the switch in first position to select the humbucker. At one point, I had a three-saddle bridge with brass saddles installed, which made, to my ears, a big difference in tone quality for the better. One other thing that I did was to sand the back of the neck. The gloss finish they put on it was pretty sticky, especially when your hands got sweaty. Today I love big baseball bat neck profiles…and the neck on that guitar wasn’t nearly what I would call fat… But it was on the thicker side to me after playing shredder necks for years, so I took the center down a little bit too.