Early 90s American Strats - thoughts/experiences?

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by cravenmonket, Jul 4, 2020.

1. cravenmonket

cravenmonket Tele-Holic

I've been looking at a number of these online and wondering if anyone has any direct experience with them? Build quality, finish, stock pickups for this period, etc. Were they making good stuff in the early 90s?

I started playing guitar seriously around 92-93 so I thought it would be fun to get the sort of instrument that would've been out of my league when I was 14...

Thanks for your help guys!

Jakedog likes this.
  2. Jakedog

Jakedog Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

I’ve had a TON of those. Many dozens. They are good guitars, and crazy consistent. I like the pickups a lot, but they aren’t for everybody. One super cool feature is the TBX tone control wired to the bridge pickup.

They do not have the correct body contours. They’re contoured like the old MIM Standards. Makes em feel kinda thick and clunky if you’re used to vintage contours. They went back to correct body contours in 1995, and started putting the “contour body” decals on the headstocks again. In 97 they went to the no-load tone control, which I’m not a fan of. In 99 they went to calling it “American Series” instead of American Standard. These got rolled fingerboard edges and staggered tuners and stuff. Just minor upgrades.

There are some very cool colors available in the early-mid 90’s on American Standards. Midnite Wine, Caribbean Mist, Pewter, Gunmetal Blue, CAR, and some others that aren’t the run of the mill black and sunburst. I prefer off the wall colors so those are the ones I’d be looking for.

Last edited: Jul 4, 2020
  3. Texsunburst59

Texsunburst59 Friend of Leo's

I own 3 -'90 Fender Plus guitars with the Lace Sensor pickups and the TBX tone control.

They're definitely different than a regular standard,but they're considered the testing ground Strats before the introduction of the Fender Custom Shop.