Dust Extraction

Discussion in 'The DIY Tool Shed' started by frank1985, Jul 12, 2021.

1. frank1985

frank1985 Tele-Meister

Last edited: Jul 12, 2021
  2. E-miel

E-miel Tele-Meister

I'm no dust expert. But the first option is a dust collector. It has a high vacuum pressure but a low flowrate. The second option is a chip collector with low vacuum pressure but a high flow rate. My personal option is you need both, depending on the tool/situation.

The first option is a good option for the router. For the bandsaw it depends on the size. Previously I used a dust collector on my 14 inch bandsaw. It worked well for fine dust, but for the bigger wood particals I had to open the door of the bandsaw to clean up. Now I switched to a chip collector and it catches al the particles, although I suspect it catches fewer fine particles than the dust collector did. I also use an air cleaner unit. I don't own professional dust/chip collectors, so for me these are more about keeping the shop clean than saving my lungs. For my lungs I always use a good quality dust mask with dust generating operations.

I have a similar unit as the Bosch from Makita which I mainly use for the router and sanders. It works well for me, but I still use a dust mask.

So no real answer to your question, but I hope it helps.

3. frank1985

frank1985 Tele-Meister

Thank you Emiel. Tbh at this stage I’m more concerned with dust extraction rather than chips...I’m a first time guitar builder, and when routing my neck I was surprised at the amount of dust produced. I am of course already using a dust mask but this will at least help me spend more time working and less time sweeping up.

So I’ll probably end up going for the Bosch as it seems like it’ll do the job at a decent price. That is unless anyone wants to chip in with a better option at a similar price range.

4. backwater

backwater TDPRI Member