Drummer in need of finish help

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by yyzt4e13, Mar 29, 2020.

1. yyzt4e13

yyzt4e13 TDPRI Member

Hello all,
    I'm a drummer that has an couple issues with the finish of a recently purchased used kit. I was told this forum has a lot of people with the knowledge. I will attempt to post pics to help assess the issues. I have a shell that has a spider type of crack in the finish. I have heard there are thin types of glues that may be able to help out. So that's the first problem I have. The second is just some gouges in the shell, didn't make it through the clear but its dented, is there a way to fill it and finish it to make look better again? I'm not afraid to do the work, just need some guidance with this. Any and all information is appreciated.

IMG_1712.JPG IMG_1716.JPG

Thanks
    Mike

2. Stefanovich

Stefanovich Tele-Holic

I will let the finishing experts chime in, but I will ask how badly those issues bother you. They don't affect the quality or functionality of the instrument and are likely not visible to either you or the audience when playing. If it were me, I wouldn't touch it and just enjoy my new drums. If it really bothers you, go for it but realize that you unless you have some skill at finish repair, you may make things worse.

3. yyzt4e13

yyzt4e13 TDPRI Member

Thanks for the reply. The integrity of the shells are in no way compromised. These are just beautiful shells and its kind of a special kit to me so I would like to clean them up as much as possible. I have no problem putting in the time to make them looking great. Just need a little guidance. I know people talk about StewMac's products but I was hoping someone could tell me which ones.

4. Freeman Keller

Freeman Keller Friend of Leo's