Double-checking + sharing a weird wiring scheme

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by pould, Jan 8, 2021.

1. pould

pould TDPRI Member

As suggested by the title, I've been working on a custom wiring scheme for my Squier Affinity Tele and I've come up with something pretty unorthodox but hopefully pretty cool as well. There are 3 knobs and no blade switch, with pickup blend, tone (with 50s wiring), and volume controls with a kill switch and a bass cut switch integrated as push/pull pots. Both capacitor values are 0.0022uf, there was some conflicting information on how to wire a bass cut switch but it seems like that value will work for wiring the cap in series with the hot lead. I'm still relatively new to electronics in general, so I want to be sure that I'm not making some grave mistake in this wiring before I order parts.

37016CE8-0A52-4CBF-9BF6-5943150AE421.jpeg

[​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 8, 2021
  2. moosie

moosie Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

Second image is broken, not showing. First image I can't see the values, but if you say the tone cap is .002uf... well, that's an order of magnitude too small. You likely want a .02 uf in that position.

Bass cut, remember smaller cuts MORE bass. I'm not sure how you'll like a .002 there. Usually it's a .001, on a POT, to dial the cut and allow some bass to pass untouched.

What's that upper pot doing? Can't read the writing.

3. pould

pould TDPRI Member

Thanks for the input on cap values, the top pot is blending between the 2 pickups in lieu of a pickup selector switch. I'm a bass player first and my Schecter Stiletto is wired this way, so I figured it would be worth trying out. Plus, a blend pot has all the functionality of a blade switch in that it can output full neck, full bridge, and neck+bridge in parallel.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01KWIX18C/?tag=tdpri-20

4. moosie

Cap values