Donner Stylish Fuzz...what is this thing?

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by schenkadere, Aug 16, 2019.

1. schenkadere

schenkadere Friend of Leo's

I’m not a fuzz expert by any means. I had a space for something and thought for $30 it would be fun to experiment.

I had a Big Muff back in the 80’s and it didn’t sound anything like this. This has a spitty quality and the tone control seems to behave very differently depending where the “Bustain” is set.

I read this was a Big Muff clone. I don’t know but to don’t think so. Anyone know?

2. jddub440

jddub440 Tele-Holic

With all the variety of Big Muff over the decades it's sort of tough to say for certain what a Big Muff should sound like....how well does it clean up with you volume knob??
    I believe one of Big Muff's claim to fame is that it doesn't really clean up too much at all!

3. schenkadere

Ok. Lol. We hit one bullet point.

Maybe I don’t have the right guitars. I have pretty high output humbuckers. Maybe that’s the problem? Or maybe my ears just don’t like fuzz.

4. Bluego1

Bluego1 Tele-Holic

Big Muff Pi.

5. 11 Gauge

11 Gauge Doctor of Teleocity

Are the pickups active? Or do you have a buffered pedal in front of this one?

While a Big Muff isn't as bad with buffering in front of it as something like a Fuzz Face or Tonebender will be, it still has a relatively low input impedance. It's going to have more of the recognizable Big Muff sound and feel if you use passive pickups, and don't have buffers in front of it.

6. schenkadere

6A61A99A-B454-429A-8B74-7E9FC07010FA.jpeg Passive Duncan pickups and no buffer. Maybe my recollection is off, l but I used it as my main distortion pedal back in the day so I don’t think so. I never remember the BM having a spitty quality. Maybe it’s just their own take on it?

7. 11 Gauge