Done with cartridge razors. Tell me about DE Safety Razors for beginners

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by cometazzi, Jul 31, 2020.

1. cometazzi

cometazzi Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

I've been using a Gillette Mach 3 since the late 1990s. I've also been having bad post-shave irritation since about that time. Every time I shave, the day or two after I get this red, itchy rash on my neck. I don't think it's razor burn, I think it's ingrown hairs. I shave in the shower every Sunday morning, and it takes almost a week until the irritation is gone and I can shave again. Some believe that multi-blade razors are the culprit with this irritation, and that a double-edged safety razor is the cure. My last Mach3 cartridge is approaching the end of its usefulness, and I'm ready to re-evaluate my life's choices.

I've read some stuff on the Internet about safety razors, but a lot of the blogs and sites are a bit over-the-top hipster stuff. Most of them are thinly-veiled advertisements for this brand or that. I'm also irrationally annoyed by the term "wet shaving" applied to safety razors or straight razors because I've been doing that with cartridge razors for 22-effin' years. Maybe I'm both wrong and a bad person.

Okay!

I'm looking at the Merkur 33c and the 23c. Only difference I can see is the latter has another inch of handle. I saw some blog that mentioned short handles are better for beginners, another said longer handles are better.
    Another site said some model of Edwin Jagger is actually better than any Merkur, but I can't find that one again. (It was also the most pretentious site I had read).