1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Does The Ashtray Affect Tone?

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by taxer, May 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. taxer

taxer Banned

I am new to Telecasters; have only been playing one for about a month. I finally popped on an ashtray bridge cover on my Tele and I think I hear a difference in tone when I play through my bridge or neck/bridge pickup. It appears to me to be BETTER!

Can this little piece that most of you guys just toss in your case actually affect a Telecaster's tone? Is something going on above that bridge pickup but trapped by the ashtray that can affect the tone?

[​IMG]

2. Telegator

Telegator Tele-Afflicted

Yes, it will affect the tone... and your playing technique. An old trick the old time fiddle players used to perform was to carry a small pocket knife. They would use the blade and handle to fold it closed on the bridge. They got a big increase in mass at the bridge and this affected their tone in a huge, huge way. Today they sell what they call "mufflers" which attach to the strings behind the fiddle bridge which does te same thing.

Some folks have had a lot of success playing with the ashtray cover on but most seem to look down on it because it greatly affects their right hand technique. Myself, I say if you like it do it. It's free to take 'em on and off at your own whim :D

3. JeradP

JeradP Former Member

I play my CV50 with the ashtray on. You develop a way too use it quickly. I don't think it affects the tone at all.

4. joeybsyc

joeybsyc Tele-Meister

No effect on tone at all, it just looks cool...and you can't palm mute with it on.

5. cosmiccowboy

cosmiccowboy Tele-Afflicted